Steak and Cuban Cigars.

cuban-cigar

And after the feast – a cigar.  Ah.  How else to cap off the perfect Thanksgiving banquet? What better way to mingle with your thoughts as you sit back and light up one of man’s natural pacifiers and healer- a cigar.

A cigar is what I look forward to each year.  Yes, I have access to them throughout the year, but if you remember, in 2015 – at least in the Midwest, we were shoveling snow instead of food.  It was a harried awakening to the fact that winter indeed had arrived and we just had to deal with it.  Bah!  Humbug!  And throw is a colloquialism – WTF!

carrot-and-stickBut the cigar?  The proverbial carrot on the stick.  Yes.  One backbreaking shovelful, another hooah! And one step closer to nighttime nirvana.  

This year, according to the weather reports, there may be rain and a chilly wind to add to the mix, but snow?  Not this time.  No.  This time we can relax and know that the day will be on our side of enjoyment. And indeed, we shall enjoy.

But just like last year was a change, this year will be a change for our meal of Thanksgiving. Yep.  No turkey.  Steak.  Delicious rib eye, herb-encrusted , delicately marbled, tender and succulent steak.  Hmm.

norman-rockwell-parody

Yes, this year we trashed the turkey.  It’s a relic of tradition that I am not ashamed to say, I’m fed up with.  I’m sure most people anticipate the arrival of the golden brown turkey surrounded with herbal greenery to accent its glow, and to celebrate its placement upon the Norman Rockwell table setting.  (Ahem.)

This, along with jellied cranberry sauce (the homemade scrambled mess is an abomination), mashed potatoes, a boat of gravy, and the ubiquitous green bean casserole swimming in Campbells® mushroom soup and topped with mountains of French’s® onions.  All to be met afterward with the perfect pumpkin pie weighted down slightly with thick, creamy whipped cream.  Hmm.  That does sound scrump-dilly-umptious.

But!  It also reeks of dull donkey drudgery.  So this year it’s steak.  Rib eye steak.  Freshly cut an inch thick right off the bone near the 4th, 5th, and 6th rib.  Yowza!  (I am a journeyman meat cutter, so I know my stuff.)  Add to that the potatoes, gravy, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole and you have a decadent meal worthy of King Richard III. Then top that with a luscious chocolate cake, slathered in delinquent buttercream frosting and you have what I can honestly say is the perfect entry into the “lounge” to have – a cigar.

Yes, ah, hmmm, the sparkling twinkle in me eyes cigar.  I am not 100% sure, but I think I will go for a Cuban cigar this year.  I do have several well-aged beauties that I save for special occasions and I think this may be considered one of them without hesitation.

hemingway-and-bottleThe question is – what one will it be?  Now, I must add a caveat here that the allure to smoke a Cuban cigar has pretty much left me.  Yes, I am still enthralled with the cigars from Cuba. But they are not what they used to be nor will they ever return to their glory days.  It’s just not going to happen.  No matter how long I close my eyes and imagine Ernest Hemingway at the Bodeguita del Medio or the more upscale La Floridita sipping on an ice cold mojito and puffing away on a well-made Cuban cigar – scribbling notes limning his next novel, the experience will never be the same.

But however jaded I am, I have gone to my cache downstairs, and after a few minutes of poking around, I chose one of those my brother brought me from the famed James J. Fox Tobacconist  (19 St James’s St, St. James’s, London).  I know this is an authentic Cuban masterpiece –  a Romeo y Julieta Short Churchill.  It is in fabulous condition and I am ready to light it up now, but I will discipline my desires and wait until after the feast – tomorrow. Arrgh!  I hate! discipline.

podcast-logo  But I can dream.  Oh, the wonderful nocturnal nudges that give me respite from the days I call reality.  I can still fantasize and pull together my ideas of romance, passion, and lust and apply them to this future situation. 

Yes, this will be a Thanksgiving with a twist – shaken not –  No, wait. Yes indeed, stirred – up.  And however cliché-esque this may sound – have a Happy Holiday my friends.  Enjoy what you have because we all have plenty.  

2 thoughts on “Steak and Cuban Cigars.

  1. Fat Old Italian Cigar Man

    Being 100% Italian-American, I am a slave to tradition. I could never give up the turkey or the chestnut, sausage, and ground veal stuffing that have been a part of the family tradition for eons. Add to that our particular family version of the Manhattan (Rye, Sweet Vermouth, Campari, Bitters, and Lemon) that we drink by the pitcher.

    Today, to go along with all our leftovers from yesterday, I actually bought a small turkey breast to roast and supplement the dwindling bird from yesterday!

    I am sitting outside now. It’s 11:15 and I’ve already put up the outside Christmas lights as well as the Christmas tree inside. I’m sad to say I’m not enjoying a cigar though. I’ve had a terrible cold and cough since Election Day and so my last cigar was a celebratory Padron 1964 Exclusivo the day after. Although I am almost back to normal, I’m not ready for a stick although I do miss them.

    As for steak on Thanksgiving….it gives me the willies just to think about it!

    That being said, the important thing is that we all hopefully enjoyed yesterday with our families and that we remembered to give thanks for whatever we have.

    A Happy Thanksgiving to all and wishes for a warm and merry holiday season!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

