Cigarus Interruptous.

interruptus

It’s insane sometimes trying to get the right shot.  I have the article in mind but I also have the picture in mind as well.  Plus I want to be smoking a cigar while I’m composing the post.  So I’m trying to do three things at once.  Four if you figure the idea has to stay fresh in my head before it goes south due to utter frustration.

Well, it’s all due to my impatience and the literal fear that I won’t get what I want you to see and read and then maybe contemplate.  

I just got back from a road trip and this idea swarmed into my consciousness about how I can get it down fast enough.  Plus the cigar.  It has a lot to do with the damn cigar because that’s the focus.  Or is it?  Not really.  You see I’m smoking a Dominican long-filler that’s just the opposite of what I’m reading.

interruptus nyrb

More often than not I’m critiquing the cigar but this cigar is perfect and the review is of the current issue of the NYRB Fall Books Issue.  Yes, the cover is intriguing.  The colors are brilliant.  A bright red against a pristine, glowing white paper.

“David Salle on Rei Kawakubo.”  I know who David Salle is but I know nothing about Rei Kawakubo.  Man, this cigar is beyond delectable.  Creamy.  Full of flavor.  And it has, right now, no brand name.  I will have a hand in that, but that’s another story for another time.  

So what drew me to flip open the paper was the cover. But the inside is not holding my interest at all.  Save for a book by Patti Smith.  Which I have already ordered.  So why go through it?  Because that’s what I do.  I never judge anything by its cover.

Articles and reviews and … this is going nowhere at all.  I’m trying not to miss anything and I will admit there are a few articles that attracted my attention, but in this case not one article is able to interest me to the final paragraph.

I’m outside on the Patio Cigar Lounge (Open 24/7) and I’m just waiting for a skunk to lean over by my leg like one did the other night.  It is very difficult to concentrate on anything when you’re constantly looking down to the left where the skunks usually and silently appear literally out of nowhere.

Flo is waiting for me to take her for her walk and all I want to do is get this thing written. But I’m in a desperate race for time because the darker it gets the more likely it will be that a skunk will appear.

Yes, I could be in the house at the office where it is as safe as can be but then I wouldn’t be able to smoke this delish Dominican.  So what do I do?  I gamble and continue to smoke the cigar and hope the night is skunk free.  Let’s see how many times did I say skunk?

My back hurts which is beginning to ache so much.  Too much time in the driver’s seat that the idea is beginning to fade.

Damn.  This is almost too much fun to stop.  A race against time.  What will win?  The cigar?  The article?  The skunk?  

I really am enjoying this cigar too much to even think about the article.  Damn the stage-left appearance of a skunk.  Though I have been sprayed and it is one of the most unpleasant smells on this planet.  Save for a rotting corpse.

Screw it.  I’m smoking the cigar.  When the brand name is established, I will be sure to let you know because I will be the only broker in the nation that has access to it.  And that’s a promise.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a5LIDNbFadU

-30-

Leave a comment