A cheap cigar?

cheap cigar

I don’t have a cigar every night, but for those of you who follow my blog, I walk the dog and I more often than not take a cigar with me – weather permitting.  How I choose the cigar isn’t scientific or even rational.  It can be full-bodied, medium, a robusto, a churchill (we take long walks), a corona. It can be habano, corojo, or maduro.  Don’t really care.

But today I did put a smidgen of time into my decision and I went with what could be called a cheap cigar.  When I say cheap, I mean one, oh, about $4 or $5.  Retail.  I mulled that decision over for about a second, took the cello off the stick, took the picture (for this here post) and prepared to go out.

While I was getting ready, you know you gotta have a poop bag, I said to myself, why am I calling this a cheap cigar?  Why am I calling it cheap?  Does that mean I’m going to walk the dog with a scowl on my face because I could have had an expensive cigar?  I have those.  Am I a cigar snob that only would have my lips touch a more elite brand?  Why the prejudice?  Why the label?

Well, the thought went away as I finally found the leash and headed for the door.  I lit up in the yard, and I put one foot in front of the other – not even thinking of the lighted stogie anymore that was pursed in my mouth – and was on my way.  All I knew was that I was walking the dog without issue. No skunks tonight. And brother we have skunks.

Eventually I got back home.  And you know something, that “cheap” cigar was one of the most delectable smokes I had today.  I didn’t think about its price, I was just enjoying it.  It’s all in the head of the smoker, cheap – bad…expensive – good.  Balderdash.  It’s perception.  (Tommy you were right.)  Pure and simple.  So don’t judge a cigar on its price – but the amount of satisfaction it produces.  Maybe some cigar manufacturers should take that fact into consideration when they price their cigars.  Just a thought.

3 thoughts on “A cheap cigar?

Leave a comment